SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

2013: Year of the Concert

Last year, I only went to two concerts: L’Arc~en~Ciel’s concert at Universal Studios Japan (both days) and “DECEMBER’S CHILDREN” in late last December. The latter one was pretty lame, not because of the performers but because of the crowd. It was the most pathetic, unenthusiastic crowd I’d ever seen. Sorry, Ling Tosite Sigure, your music is really good but your fans sucked. MUCC’s fans are so much better 😉

There were a lot of concerts I could’ve gone to, but didn’t just because my weekends were so busy–Bonnie Pink has a concert in Osaka, MUCC also had one…so this year I decided that I would go to as many concerts as I could.

Source: last.fm

On March 9th, I’m going to try out exist†trace for the first time. They’re Japan’s most famous all-female visual kei band, and the only one on a major record label, as far as I know. I actually only liked a few of their pre-major songs, and their recent music is pretty mediocre, but I’m willing to give them a try, as well as to observe their fanbase. Is it mostly female? Do guys listen to them? Is there girl-on-girl fanservice? Are they decent live performers?

I’m also planning a short trip to Tokyo at the end of March to see Bonnie Pink with New Japan Philharmonic (March 30th), and MUCC at NHK Hall for the conclusion of their Shangri-La tour (March 31st). The two couldn’t be more different, right? Originally I had planned for the 29th and 30th, but as I expected, there’s going to be a going-away party on the 29th for any teachers that will be leaving at the end of the school year. Fortunately, both are 2-day concert events, so I just shifted my plans over by one day. I’ve yet to buy tickets because MUCC’s go on sale this Saturday–once I confirm a ticket for that one, I’ll get a ticket for Bonnie Pink’s. This is will be my first Bonnie Pink event, and…I’ve seen MUCC play at least 5 times.

Bonnie Pink & MUCC

Bonnie Pink on March 30th, MUCC on the 31st.

A few days ago, a friend invited me to see Korean rapper G-Dragon on April 27th. I’m actually not sure whether I can go, since I just found out that there’s supposed to be a school event that Saturday (because Saturday school events never fail to ruin my plans). If I can manage to get out of it, or at least leave early, I should be able to make it.

Another plan that might be derailed is Bonnie Pink’s fan club concert on May 25th in Osaka, because…Saturday school events never fail to ruin my life. Out of nowhere, my current school, who usually holds their sports festivals in September, have for some reason moved up next year’s event to May. May 25th, to be precise.

I don’t mind sports festivals. I usually don’t have to do any real work and I get Monday off. Fair enough. But for the past two years, sports festivals have kept me from going to Tokyo to see the Tokyo Game Show (which for the past few years has been held in September, instead of October when I first went in 2008), as well as keeping me from L’Arc~en~Ciel’s 20th L’Anniversary Live (thank goodness they did a tour later that year), as well as their last World Tour concert in Tokyo (thank goodness I was able to go to USJ). So I’ve decided that I hate sports festivals, because I believe they are designed to rockblock me. (See what I did there? Haha…ehh.)

So once again, if I can manage to get out of sports festival (I’ve already had to go to last year’s in September…do I really have to go again?), then perhaps I’ll be able to attend Bonnie’s fan club concert.

I should probably stop planning concert attendances from there, as I still have a cosplay to work on and money to save. But that doesn’t mean I won’t try to see T.M.Revolution in Kobe on July 13th.

Anyone who knows T.M.Revolution knows that he LOVES androgynous outfits and crossdressing. Yup, that’s a man, but I’m sure you could tell.

Leave a Reply

