SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Creatures

Yesterday, I was on my way to work and stopped by a vending machine to get something to drink. I bought a small bottle of apple juice for 100 yen, took a big gulp, and put the bottle in my bike basket. Just as I was getting back on my bike, from the corner of my eye I spotted a cat–no, a kitten! It was mostly grey, with spots of blonde and white fur.

I tried to pull out my phone to take a picture, but as soon as the kitten noticed that I was looking, he ran and hid. As I waited to see if he would return, a different kitten came out! He seemed much less scared and just stared at me curiously as I took pictures.

Image

Image

Image

It’s not unusual to see stray cats, but a stray kitten sure is something.

Then, this morning, I went out to try and pump air in my bicycle tire, but to no avail, as there must be a puncture somewhere in the inner tire. (I ended up walking to school.) As I went back upstairs to put my tire pump back in my apartment, I noticed a huge, light green-colored papery object on the ground. At first I thought it was some drawing or cutout dropped by a kid, but as I looked closer, I noticed that it was something I had never seen before.

Image

The moth looks small, but it was actually about the size of my palm (about 4 inches wide). I looked it up online and it appears to be a Luna moth. However, it doesn’t have the long tails that Luna moths supposedly have, but looking closely at its rear, it appears that they might have been broken off.

ImageThe binomial name for the Luna moth is “Actias artemis,” and in Japanese it’s called “Oomizuao” (オオミズアオ). I’m normally not a fan of bugs of any kind, but seeing this little Luna here made me smile.

One response to “Creatures

  1. Rebekah Holmes August 29, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Definitely a luna moth! Awesome! Overall, the bugs of Japan have utterly freaked me out, but this is greato.

Leave a Reply

