SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Blog Name Change

After living in Japan for almost 2 years, I think I need to change the name of my blog.

I’m still a “gaijin” here, but I just don’t really have any stories to tell. It’s probably much more interesting to read about the foreigner getting kancho-ed by his students, or the one who’s married to a Japanese man and lives in some city no one’s heard of (or one that everyone’s heard of).

I just live my daily life as a regular person. Yeah, I get treated a little differently because I’m not Japanese, but it’s no big deal.

The word “gaijin” implies that one is some sort of outsider. In certain ways, I am, but there are also things I do in everyday life that are normal. I know how to shop for groceries. I can talk to my co-workers. I can use an ATM. I set up Internet Banking for both of my Japanese bank accounts. I can buy stuff online from Japanese websites. I can order dinner from a menu at a Japanese restaurant. Heck, I can even pay for things with my cellphone. (Even a lot of Japanese people don’t do that!)

I still want to blog, but I don’t think I can do it from the perspective of a “gaijin” anymore. I would rather blog from the perspective of…me.

Who am I? Recently, I’ve been two things: A teacher, and a cosplayer. I’ve also been a flutist, a model, an artist, and a blogger. I think it’s one of the reasons why I picked the name “Schizo-alias” for my Twitter and web portal that no one visits.

No, I’m not actually a schizo; I used it because it sounds better than “split personality,” and is still associated with a disorderly mind. Not to say I have a disorderly mind, either, but I do divide myself among a lot of things. My mind is always jumping from one thing to another; right now, it’s been fully devoted to cosplay, but when my latest project is done, who knows? I still want to buy a new flute.

So, I think I’ll change my blog to “Schizo-alias.”

3 responses to “Blog Name Change

  1. Murlin J. July 11, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    I agree, u need to decide where u going with this. I for one would like to see a more personal side from you. We can see God made u to become a beautiful woman, I love your pics. Now let us see what’s under that skin. Let us hear what your eyes really have to say! U got to understand we are growing up with u, U are not that same person who started this. U a teacher right, so do you and teach! If u going to keep writing, then write. Give us some facts and truths. Let us hear from the woman side of u! I could stand in one spot and look at u forever but what’s after that? Let us hear u. U got to have an opinion on the differences between life there and the one u left behind here. It’s time to pop the top, blow out the candles and cut the cake! Feed us! Make me want to read your words. I understand u have to be careful with what u do say because some of your students may read this. Give us some emotion. Talk to us about the differences between education here and the one u see the kids getting there. Explain the morals, values and traditions taught there that u might feel we could learn from here! U know I would love to have a one on one conversation with u but I don’t see a personal email anywhere nor any other way to get to u. I just think you could do more especially using utube if u’d open u up more! Love the day u let us see u loosen up a bit clowning around! That made u human! I wish I understood all this stuff about making pages like this, I’m working on it. Really busy right now. U wouldn’t believe the journey God has me on right now! Looking to write a book! Hey! The modeling, don’t u stop! Just keep doing it the way u been doing it! Fashion second, Always respect u first! L.O.L

  2. Donna Orr July 27, 2012 at 11:59 am

    So how do I find you now?

Leave a Reply

