SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

38 Children in One Class.

This year at one of my schools, they decided to combine last year’s two 3rd grade classes into one 4th grade class. There are a total of 38 children. Their teacher was a 5th grade teacher last year, and while he’s a good teacher, I could tell he was already a bit troubled by being given such a big task.

Normally I have a brief meeting with the teachers before the day of class to discuss what we’d be doing. But yesterday I was approached not by the 4th grade teacher, but by the support teacher, who was a 1st grade teacher last year.

Support teacher: Chase-sensei, could you please tell me what you have planned for the 4th graders tomorrow?

Me: (a little confused that I’m not talking to the 4th grade teacher) Sure.

4th grade teacher: Ah, sensei. Um…because…there’s…38 kids…I, uh…*points to support teacher* have…backup…*slowly backs away* sorry. ^_^;

Me: Ah, I understand. (poor guy…)

He seemed almost embarrassed to need help, but with 37 kids plus one with extreme behavior problems, it would be hard for anyone. I don’t understand why they thought this would’ve been a good idea. But I have class with them today, and it appears there will be a total of 3 teachers including myself, so we might be fine.

Leave a Reply

