SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

My Favorite.

Last week, I continued a lesson with my “good” 6th grade class at my smaller school on “favorites.” I taught them the expression “My favorite _____ is _____.” and used colors, subjects, and TV shows as examples, and then asked them, “What’s your favorite school memory?”

The kids all said things like the 6th grade school trip, or their week-long “camping” trip in 5th grade, or their visit to the middle school they’d be attending in April. After they all answered, I asked their teacher what his favorite school memory was.

“Hmm…my favorite school memory is…kyuushoku.”

School lunch.

I burst out laughing and the kids all went “EHHHHHHHHH?!?!?!” He defended himself, saying, “I look forward to it when I’m hungry!!! And it’s delicious, right?”

He’s right about that. Our school lunches are pretty good.

Leave a Reply

