SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

L’Arc~en~Ciel 20th Anniversary – Day 2

I got an okay rest in the capsule. I was immediately thinking that I’d probably only stay here for no more than three nights, if even that long. At the time I figured it wasn’t the hotel’s fault at all; that’s just the way it was. Since having gone to a better capsule hotel two weeks later, I probably won’t be staying at this one anymore.

It felt really good to already be in Osaka early the next morning. I was thinking that there’d be nothing to do at such an early hour, but I was surprised to find that the game centers were already open. I played some UFO catcher, and then at Taito Game Station I played some DDR–which may or may not have been a good idea considering that I was dressed for winter–and broke into a sweat after playing a few songs.

I had a lot of time on my hands, so I did some window shopping and just walked around until it was time to head back to Kyocera Dome. The amount of money I spent on concert merchandise was a little higher than I expected to spend, but it was all worth it. At the end of the first night I had gotten back in line to buy an extra glowstick so I wouldn’t have to wait in line before Day 2.

I was a little disappointed that they played a lot of the same songs from Day 1, with a few different ones. I learned later that Day 2 had actually been streamed live on TV in other Asian countries for people to watch, thus the repetition of certain popular songs. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed it, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed once they made surprise announcements about a World Tour Final Concert in Tokyo and Osaka, and not one, but TWO upcoming albums for 2012: one original studio album, and the other for P’UNK~en~Ciel, their alter ego band where they switch parts and do punk covers of L’Arc songs. I’m a huge fan of P’UNK, so I screamed pretty hard upon seeing that announcement.

The concert finished at 8, and after getting my stuff together, I managed to get someone to take my picture in front of one of the dome entrances and then I headed for the long, two hour trip home to Ono.

Sorry it's so dark; can't really help that with the lighting and all.

Leave a Reply

