SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

My Hometown.

In the kitchen after lunch, the secretary asked me about where in America I’m from. I said Maryland. She asked if it was near the sea. I said it was somewhat close. She said, “Wow, it must be very nice,” seeming very mesmerized. I wanted to tell her it wasn’t a huge deal, but she went on to ask about my hometown, and if it was beautiful.

“Beautiful” isn’t the first word that comes to mind when I think of Bowie, MD, but I said yes anyway. She said, “Wow, it must be great having lived in such a beautiful place. And I think you’re very beautiful as well.” I said thanks, but I was so confused. Either way, she seems to have taken a liking to me.

Everyone else was in the principal’s office for a meeting, so only she and I were in the staff room. When the clock hit 4:30 I said goodbye and left, but then I had to go back a few seconds later and said “I forgot something.” She laughed and said, “You’re funny.” I just smiled. She asked if I would make my bus, and I said I was okay. Then I left and headed home.

I thought about it some more, and I realized that Bowie really is beautiful compared to other cities, specifically those closer to and in certain parts of Baltimore and near Southeast DC. Though I don’t live there anymore, I recall having days when I looked outside the window and thought about how peaceful my neighborhood is.

Leave a Reply

