SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Grading Papers

Last week at one of my schools (the one where my supervisor makes mediocre lessons), the 4th, 5th and 6th graders started writing practice worksheets for the first time since I got there in August. I had the 6th and 5th graders hold onto their worksheets, but when I told the 4th graders that what they didn’t finish would be for homework, it seems that two of the three homeroom teachers wanted them to finish earlier than this coming Friday. I don’t know if they just wanted them to be completed in a timely fashion, or if they wanted the students to get them out of the way so they could do more “important” stuff like math and social studies homework…or something.

Anyway, those two teachers gave me their students’ completed papers. One teacher just put the stack on my desk, but the other teacher actually communicated with me a bit, and asked me how I was doing after about an hour of checking. We had a nice little talk about the writing differences among some of the students (some of them writing ‘kujira’ and some writing ‘kuzira’, which is Japanese for “whale”). I told him that I was going to take the papers home with me so I could have a closer look at them, but actually I’m going to use some of them as examples in my next video, so you can see what I’m talking about.

Lately I’ve been busy doing and thinking about a million things at once…making lessons, writing blogs, making videos, preparing to buy tickets for upcoming concerts, ideas for decorating my apartment, making chocolate for Valentine’s Day…sometimes I wish I had a househusband to help me get all this done. Or a persocom.

Leave a Reply

