SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Eigo Salon

Once a month at Ichiba Elementary, I teach a class called “Eigo Salon.” Some of the 1st and 2nd graders (and even older) come to the English classroom along with some of the kids’ parents (usually mothers). We do some activities and learn vocabulary which is different from my regular classroom curriculum.

My first session was yesterday. There were about 5 or 6 mothers and about 20 kids there. I didn’t have much of a clue of what I was doing but fortunately my supervisor helped out. I was thinking it would be easy since I would be teaching adults as well, but it was actually a little chaotic. I think it’s because the little ones think of Eigo Salon as an after-school activity. We ended up starting late and finishing 15 minutes overtime, but everyone looked like they were having fun, especially two of the boys that were being told all of the answers by their mothers, lol.

I’ve got a few pictures to put up but I’ve been tired lately. I’m at Kishi Elementary today which means no English classroom where I can take a nap.

Just one more week until my next paycheck ^_^ The XBox 360 is on the top of my list. I have quite a few expensive items on that list (by “expensive” I mean above $100) so I decided that I would buy one of them each month, maybe two if I can manage. I might get a Japanese-English electronic dictionary soon as well, because breaking out the Nintendo DS during class is a bit unprofessional. I’m also planning to take the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) next year, so I want to prepare early.

Leave a Reply

