SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Hesitation to sell stuff online

I have a lot of junk to get rid of. Shonen Jump magazines, Magic: the Gathering cards, a broken MacBook…and I need to get rid of it before I leave for Japan.

Of course the common response would be to sell it on eBay, but for some reason I can’t seem to get up and running. I think I’m kind of nervous about posting stuff. Or I don’t want to deal with shipping. But I have to do something. My mom has been trying to have a yard sale for years and it hasn’t happened.

No updates about JET; since I’ve reported where I’m going, what else is there to say? I’ve read up on some of the stationing procedures, and it turns out that I might have a position at a middle school. I think it’s a good place to be. I’ve never dealt with middle school kids in Japan before. Adolescents are at that weird age that I think people pay little attention to. Elementary school is considered a critical time for learning and high school is on the way to adulthood. I considered my time in middle school to be quite insignificant, because it was only two years long (I lived in an area where elementary school went up to 6th grade), despite the fact that it was when I had the closest friendships with my peers before transferring to a different high school from the rest of them. I hope I can be of some help and inspiration to some of those kids.

Leave a Reply

