SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Ono…JET Placements!!!

God must have thought it would be funny to place me in a city with the same name as my little athlete crush, Apolo Anton Ohno.

In July, I’m going to be in the city of Ono, in Hyogo Prefecture.

I have mixed feelings about it. I knew I wasn’t going to be anywhere near Tokyo, but I surely didn’t expect Hyogo; I think this was probably based on my third-choice request of Osaka, which is in the neighboring prefecture. I tried to look up information about Ono, and I can’t really find anything. Don’t get me wrong, though–Ono isn’t really out in the sticks or anything, which I’m happy about. It’s about an hour away from Kobe City, and further away is Takarazuka.

Loosely compared to Maryland and Washington D.C., I guess I can say it would be like living in Frederick or St. Mary’s County. It’s certainly a place I wouldn’t have picked myself.

But what matters is that I have a job lined up after graduation. Living in Kansai (Western Japan) is going to be a very new experience for me. I don’t know what grade level I’ll be teaching yet, but I have a feeling it’s elementary school.

Living in Ono will give me the opportunity to revisit all of the Kansai areas I went to in 2005, like Himeji, Kyoto, and maybe even Hiroshima. I’ll probably have to save my money up for traveling to Tokyo by Shinkansen.When I think about it, my placement is probably good for me. It’s not too isolated that I’d go insane, but it’s not too close to the city where I’d be tempted to spend money every week. There’s always online shopping if I want something. Maybe I’ll meet a cute guy who will teach me Kansai dialect 😉 Haha, kidding.

In other news, I’m officially done with finals. Now there’s graduation, some other stuff, and cleaning out my room.

2 responses to “Ono…JET Placements!!!

  1. Kei Chan May 27, 2010 at 6:21 am

    Good luck in your first year

    http://wakarahen.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

