SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Next Stage.

This is kind of late…I’ve been really busy lately, juggling modeling and school and Bible study.

Last Thursday, I was on a dinner cruise by the Waterfront with my friend, who was appointed a few months ago to be a Global Ambassador for the D.C. Cherry Blossom Festival. It was a lot fun; we danced, ate good food, and got to talk to some nice people. I used my friend’s phone to check my e-mail, because I was supposed to be finding out about the results for JET that evening.

I got in.

My submission of required forms will confirm my acceptance into the program. I will be leaving for Japan on July 31st.

It really is bittersweet. That day is my dad’s birthday. It’s also during the weekend of Otakon, which I had been hoping to attend this year. Ever since I returned to the U.S., I had become more and more comfortable with the idea of staying here. I got to spend more time with my friends, caught up with others, established modeling as a new hobby…and now I’m leaving again. And there’s no guarantee I’ll be placed in a desirable area in Japan. I’ll have to learn to deal with my surroundings.

But as I said to my friend, “We can’t always do what we want to do, especially not just coming out of college.” With this economy, getting a “fun” job really shouldn’t be as much of a priority as getting a job in the first place. Once I find out where I will be placed, I should be fortunate that I’ve secured a source of income at all, and a decent one at that.

We’ll see where life takes me. For now, I need to finish up my semester and enjoy the time I have left with my friends.

Leave a Reply

