SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

JET, avex, and my future.

For the first time, I finally feel like the road to my future is getting narrower and narrower. Throughout school I took small steps. I wasn’t one of those kids who had childhood dreams of becoming a doctor or a lawyer. I just did well in school because I was supposed to.

I’m starting to come up with some kind of plan. Originally, I was going to apply for JET and also do this talent search for avex and see how that goes. But after attending a small meeting and learning more about JET’s application process and departure dates, I’m reconsidering it. The departure date for those accepted into the program is weeks earlier than I expected. Not only that, but if I do well in the auditions with avex AND get accepted by JET, I’ll have to drop JET. Should something come up and I can’t proceed with avex, I won’t be able to apply for JET until 2011 (according to JET’s rules).

So what I might have to do is pass up applying for JET this year, and try to pursue something with avex or Sony Music Japan. While I’m auditioning for them, I can look for a different job, either in the U.S. or one that starts later in the fall.

The other issue is the departure date for JET. Should I be accepted, I will have to depart for Japan on July 31st. That happens to be both the Saturday of Otakon and my dad’s birthday (which I missed last year being in Japan). Of course, for the sake of my future I would have no choice but to miss these events, but it really forces me to think about other options. I was really set on making a costume for Otakon, volunteering there, and not having my dad drive me to the airport on his birthday. (What a terrible birthday present that would be!)

To be honest, JET was never my first option; it was simply the easiest thing to do following graduation while I figured out what I wanted to do. But now I know what I want to do. In fact, I’ve known what I wanted to do for a long time, I was just to afraid to pursue it.

Trying to get into the music business is risky. It could take years to finally land a contract, or I may live my entire life never reaching my goal. But after receiving so many words on encouragement from my friends and family, I think this is really what I want to do.

All I need is some support, prayer, and some time to practice.

One response to “JET, avex, and my future.

  1. bethruizgreen November 24, 2009 at 2:02 am

    hi i just came across your blog.so cool you lived in japan.you should go for it become a singer in japan.don't keep your dreams waiting.i want to be an actress not in jp thou , but i keep on pushing it aside.not anymore now i want to go for it more.so go for it and goodluck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

Leave a Reply

