SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Goodbye…for now

It’s been almost exactly 11 months since I set foot in Japan. I still remember my flight here and my first night in the dorm like it was only a few days ago.

It hasn’t hit me yet that my life is about to change again in just a few hours. Right now I’m just trying to make sure things go smoothly. I have two very full suitcases and a bass guitar to take back to the States. I’m looking around my room and I’m surprised at how I managed to clear everything out. I hardly remember doing it because the last few nights have been all about the host clubs. I admit, the host club is probably the most enjoyable and most unexpected experience that I’ve had during my time here. I learned a lot about hosts and about myself as well. I’m really sad that I won’t be able to go to a host club for quite a while.

No more all-night karaoke, no more shopping in Harajuku, no more purikura, no more e-mails from hosts asking me to visit them again. I adjusted to life in Japan so easily because I have so much freedom here. I don’t know if I’ll cry when I get on the plane, but I know it’s going to be hard to leave. I miss my family and friends of course, I just don’t miss American life.

While I was walking around Kabukicho last night, I decided that Japan was indeed my second home. I know this isn’t over, and that I’ll be back, somehow. I’ll get a job here, I’ll save money to take a vacation…anything just to come back.

Coming back from two host clubs last night, I only got about 2 hours of sleep so I’m going to take a really short nap now. I pray that I have a safe trip home.

I think I’ll write more after I return to the U.S., just so I can tell everyone about my re-adjustment and any additional thoughts about my year of studying abroad.

For now, I’ll write again once I come back.

Leave a Reply

