SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

IT’S A GUNDAM!!!

On Saturday I went to Odaiba to see the life-size RX-78-2 Gundam in Shiokaze Park. While doing a little research on how to get to Odaiba, I found out a little about it. It’s a man-made island in Tokyo Bay, originally built for defense purposes in the 1800s, according to Wikipedia. Today it’s a huge tourist attraction with a lot of shopping and entertainment centers. Even getting there is an attraction in itself–the Yurikamome is a transit service that goes over the Rainbow Bridge to the island, and the large windows allow you to see the area as you travel. Other means of transportation including taking a boat, the subway, or even walking over the bridge (which sounds somewhat appealing now that I think about it). A helpful guide on getting to Odaiba and what to see when you arrive is here.

I didn’t get to do a lot that day, so I’ll be going again pretty soon. For now, here are some pictures that I took, most of them being pictures of the Gundam. Thanks to my brother for telling me about this, otherwise I probably would have never known about it.


This is the Fuji TV Building. Can you imagine being able to work in a place like this everyday?


Yes, this is still Japan. They have a replica of the Statue of Liberty on this island. I’ve never even seen the real one with my own eyes. Behind it are the Rainbow Bridge and Tokyo Tower.


Viewing the bay while entering Shiokaze Park

And now, the Gundam:

The Gundam actually does a little moving with his head and lighting up, which I didn’t know about before. The crowd oohed and ahhed while watching it move. I wonder if Japan is counting this as a development towards building fully-functional Gundams.

The photos really aren’t enough; it really is much more amazing to go and see the Gundam. It will be on display until the end of August. I’m going once more before I go back to the U.S. to take nighttime pictures, as well as to visit some other areas of the island that I didn’t get to see this time around.

Leave a Reply

