SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Cooking update!

Wow…I’m long overdue for a food update. I think my last post was back in January…

Here’s what’s been cooking for the past several months:


Chicken wrap with lettuce, mozzarella and cheddar cheese, corn, tomato and sour cream


Spaghetti with chicken and homemade white sauce


Level 3 okonomiyaki! I finally bought some appropriate toppings to improve my okonomiyaki. Includes bonito flakes, aonori, and mayonnaise


Spaghetti with onions, meat sauce, chicken and mozzarella cheese


Cheese omelette with meat sauce, hash brown and fried cinnamon apples


Pork stir-fry with broccoli, carrots, cucumbers, onions and pineapples


Chocolate-covered strawberries with sprinkles


Ramen soup with beef, wakame and egg


Fruit salad with strawberry, kiwi, peach, mandarin orange, aloe vera and nata de coco


Pork stir-fry with soba noodles topped with wakame


Omlette with chicken, cheese and mixed vegetables


Steak with green and red peppers and onions; pasta with white sauce; potato with sour cream


Scrambled egg with onions and peppers with a slice of buttered toast


Fried pork with peppers, onions and carrots over rice


Crepe with bulgogi and peppers


Spaghetti with grilled chicken, onions and peppers


My version of ‘karaagedonburi’: fried chicken (karaage) with shredded cabbage, soy sauce mixed with sugar and topped with mayonnaise over rice. I first had this at the cafeteria at Rikkyo. If you ever get a chance to visit the campus, be sure to visit the main cafeteria for lunch and try this!


Chicken doria


Ochazuke: rice topped with grilled salmon and wakame, with green tea poured over top. A must try!!

Since I’m nearing the end of my stay in Japan, I’m not sure if I’ll have any more creations, but if I do I’ll be sure to post them.

Leave a Reply

