SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Too embarrassing to call a ‘date’.

So…

I had a ‘date’ with a Japanese person who expressed interest in me on mixi, this Japanese social networking site. He didn’t look too bad in his profile picture…from the little bit of back-and-forth messaging we did, it seemed like there wasn’t much we had in common. But instead of blowing him off I decided to give it a try and meet with him.

Ugh. At the station I immediately figured out who he was and from that moment was reluctant to let him find me. We met up, and he didn’t even have any concrete plans…”What should we do” was said more than three times. Seriously…you want to meet with someone (i.e. go on a date) and tell them you want to show them around West Shinjuku, and then when you get there you don’t know what you want to do??

So we went up to this observatory on the 45th floor of one of the skyscrapers in the Skyscraper District. It was nice, could’ve been better if it wasn’t so foggy. As I looked out the window, he didn’t even stay next to me for long before shying away and moving to another window. Hey, I wasn’t disappointed…but still, the point of meeting someone is to get to know them, not to run away from them.

I don’t even want to talk about the rest. In the end, we ended up meeting with Kenisha and her friends and went to the Game Center. Almost immediately, he just disappeared. I messaged him asking where he went, and he said he was on the 3rd floor. By that time Kenisha was ready to go to Shibuya, and I had already made up my mind that I had no desire to see this guy again. I told him about my plans to go to Shibuya and he gave me a “See ya,” from which I could sense that he really wanted to avoid hanging out for any longer.

He goes to Toudai (Tokyo University, the top school in Japan) and studies medicine. Not to generalize, but that should’ve given me a clue that this guy was surely not going to be the most exciting. All the questions I planned to ask him went out the window, because frankly, nothing that I was going to find out about him would convince me to hang out with him again.

Thank goodness Kenisha was in the area though. If I ever try something like this again, I will always make sure I have a friend to call for backup.

Leave a Reply

