SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

What a night >_<

I was bored yesterday, so I made plans to go out, for absolutely no reason.

My first plan was to visit Yokohama to take some pictures. But I didn’t want to take the train all the way there, just to take pictures and do little else. So I decided to go on Friday instead.

Then I thought about going to Tokyo Station. I’ve been through the station several times, but never actually went out into the city. But as time passed, I figured I’d do that later as well. Maybe Saturday.

So then I decided to go to Kabukicho. I felt like doing some host watching.

I got a little more than I expected. Just a little.

I got all dressed up, even put on some eyeshadow. (I looked pretty awesome, if I do say so myself ^_^) So I arrived at Shinjuku and started walking towards Kabukicho. I still had my earbuds on and messing with my iPod, and that’s when one host tried to strike! He didn’t try too hard, though. I pretended not to see him, and since my earbuds were on I couldn’t hear him either. My first thought as I was crossing the street was, “It worked!”

I didn’t get hit on a lot, probably because I had my eyes glued to my cellphone screen, pretending to be focused on something. But I could tell I was being watched. One guy whose face I didn’t see followed me for a few seconds and said hi…he wasn’t even wearing a suit but I knew he had to have been a host. Someone else passing out flyers held one out to me, and I didn’t want to ignore him and walk by, so I took it. After I took it, I realized what I had done and that I couldn’t just keep walking. So I stopped, looked at it, and said “Thank you” to the host, lol. I felt really bad ignoring and refusing all these guys, but it’s no big deal.

I was really nervous about the attention I was getting, so I hid around at a few game centers until later in the evening. I even took some purikura. Yeah, it was by myself…but I was all dressed up, so I figured, why not? I looked like a hostess, lol.

The interesting part came later. I was walking around, and one of the hosts caught my eye, because he had some really nice pants on. Two girls were coming in the other direction, and the host spun around and started talking to them. It turned out to be the manager of the host club that I’ve been visiting! Kenisha apparently has a crush on him because he wears glasses and looks a little bit like Koike Teppei. I was really surprised, because I figured most of the newbies do ‘catch’ and flyering, which is a custom of host club heirarchy. As soon as I saw him, I found a place on the side to stand so I could message Kenisha. At the same time, he was just a few feet away, on the phone with someone. When I looked up for a split second, he was facing my direction, as if he was looking straight at me…perhaps he recognized me, or maybe he was just wondering if he should try and approach me. But a few seconds later he disappeared.

A few minutes later, I moved to another spot and continued exchanging messages…and suddenly this fat, middle-aged salaryman came up to me and started talking to me in Japanese. He asked if I wanted to drink with him, and I said I didn’t speak much Japanese. Then he started speaking to me in English!!! So I pretended that I didn’t know English either, haha. It was pretty awkward and embarrassing. I wonder if the hosts were watching, because that was pretty bad. Maybe he thought I was a hostess…

A few hours later, I met up with Kenisha, who had just come back from a trip. What an enormous feeling of relief to have her with me, not just as a friend but because of the way she was dressed, which was like the opposite of what I was wearing: Jeans, a hoodie, and tennis shoes. Her hair wasn’t too impressive either…we joked that she was my host repellent, and it seemed to be working pretty well, until…

…two hosts that happened to speak a little English approached us. When that happened there was no way we could ignore them. We actually stopped for a few minutes and they asked us to come to the club with them, and for a very very low price…I might have taken the bait, but Kenisha didn’t want to go, citing later on that she wasn’t dressed to go to the club (and still had her bag of stuff from her trip). They were very friendly and funny, and I really wanted to go. Kenisha said that I would be “cheating on my host” if I went with them…as if my host didn’t already have other customers!

Well, God must’ve thought the same thing, because after a little more walking around, I ran into my host, or rather, he noticed me and got my attention. We made some small talk for a few minutes, and met his silly friend who also works at the club. Afterwards, I wondered what would have happened if Kenisha and I agreed to go with those two hosts we talked to moments before, and my host saw us. There was little chance of that happening because of the distance between the two locations, but if I wasn’t aware that my host was out and not at the club, he might have seen us. That would have been bad, but he wouldn’t be able to do anything, right?

If this was a real relationship, going with those two would have been out of the question. But host clubs are a service. I’m not obligated to be “loyal” to my host. Even so, I didn’t choose my host that night in January out of the blue. Maybe if he had seen me, it would have motivated him to try harder so he could hold onto me as a customer. Another thing is that, I was completely unaware that he was out, so he could have chosen to not approach me. But he actually came to talk to me, which was nice. I wonder what the motivation was. Am I his friend? Was he just trying to show the hosts in the area that I was “his”? Was he just trying to kill time because he was bored out of his mind? I have no idea. It’s way too difficult to distinguish what’s real and what’s not.

What I do know is that brand name bags are not the only target for hosts. If you’re dressed nicely, that’s another way to get attention. Some of the girls even wear somewhat plain clothes and they still get approached. It depends on the host and how hard he wants to try. There were still some hosts who didn’t bother approaching me. My experiment got great results…though I’m not sure I ever want to do that again, at least not by myself. I need my host repellent–I mean, Kenisha. ^_^

Leave a Reply

