SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Host Club Gossip: My own little J-Drama

Can’t be at the host club everyday, or even once a week?
Always wondering what’s going on when you’re not at the shop?
Eager to know the prices of what you can’t already afford?

Enter Host Love, a BBS where people (mostly girls) gossip about all kinds of things related to host and hostess clubs, as well as the fuzoku (sex shops, or ‘legalized prostitution’ if you wanna go that level).

I discovered this site in a host club wiki/dictionary while trying to figure out the meanings of certain shop terms. It was listed under the entry for a ‘bomb site’ (爆弾サイト), in which ‘bomb’ refers to rumors or exposure of details about a host. Of course I was very curious, so I visited the site and found that there were tons of threads about different shops, discussions about top customers (called ‘aces’) and individual host topics, provided that someone creates the thread. I’m not particularly interested in any of the threads except for the ones related to the club I visit, but if I ever wanted to visit a particular shop or find out something about a certain host before I go, I can look it up on Host Love.

Of course, the site is labeled as a ‘gossip’ site, so you can’t take everything you read here as truth. It’s up to the reader to decide whether he or she will believe something. Everyone on the site posts anonymously as well, for good reason of course. A lot of the stuff I’ve been reading is the same old talk about makura and whose ace ordered what, but I did come across some interesting happenings, and some discussion about my own host. It’s nothing really important; he’s still a ‘new recruit’ so he isn’t as popular as the club’s top hosts. A lot of the girls refer to him as a ‘good kid,’ which is kind of cute, I guess. After all, he’s only 19 and I imagine most of the customers are in their early to mid-20s.

Needless to say, the gossip site is in Japanese, so if you don’t understand the language it’s not very helpful. Also, there is a lot of slang, from general Japanese slang to host club-specific terminology to chatspeak. It was really hard for me to understand at first but I’m starting to get used to it. Now to go study some real Japanese…

Leave a Reply

