SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

White Day/The Great BOOK-OFF Hop

White Day was exhausting. And fun. I’m not going to go into detail, but just give a brief summary.

I spent the morning getting ready and straightening my hair. I expected to go to the host club later in the evening, around 9 or 10 p.m. Unexpectedly, around 1 p.m. my host e-mailed me asking if we could hang out. It was a slight misunderstanding, actually: The day before, he asked what time I could come to the club. I said I wanted to hang out with him before the club opened, but if he was busy then I’d go later. He replied saying that there may not be enough time, blah blah, basically what I understood to be the Japanese way of saying “No,” or, “I can’t.” I said it was fine (as in, “It’s fine, never mind”) and that when I knew what time I could come, I’d let him know.

But I think he interpreted my “It’s fine,” as, “It’s fine if we can only hang out for a little bit.” Oops.

Oh well. We got about an hour in of hanging around, looking at brand name stuff (lol), and talking. Then we went to the club, where I stayed for an hour. One of the hosts I met is Korean and speaks English! But I didn’t find that our until time was almost up…I still had fun though.

After the club, I went back to my dorm to change and get ready for Tokyo Decadence. What is Tokyo Decadence? It’s a dance party held once a month. I tried to look it up, here’s an old site. It’s definitely not something I’m used to, but it was fun. My clothes smelled heavily of smoke afterwards >_< BOOK-OFF hop that Kenisha and I had been talking about doing for some time. BOOK-OFF is a store that sells new and used games, books, DVDs, and CDs. They have a chain of stores all over Japan, and even some overseas. The used items are as low as 105 yen!!!

The night before I was in a CD collecting mood, so I decided the next day I’d visit a few stores along the Yamanote Line to collect Bonnie Pink, L’Arc~en~Ciel, and Ayumi Hamasaki CDs. How fun! We went to about 8 or 9 shops, including Akihabara, Shibuya, Shinjuku, and Nerima. I had the tetsu tote bag I bought from JACK IN THE BOX to carry all of the CDs I bought…a grand total of 21! Kenisha bought 34…crazy.

My goal is to get all of Bonnie Pink’s albums and singles, all of Laruku’s albums, and all of Ayumi Hamasaki’s studio albums and singles. (I’m not even going for her remix albums, that’s way too many!!!) Anything I can’t find, I’ll just order online.

This Sunday is the concert! Yay! I’m going to go to Harajuku tomorrow to look for a new pair of shades and a necktie ^_^

Leave a Reply

