SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Yokohama, Minato Mirai and Chinatown

On Friday I went with Kenisha and two of her friends to Yokohama. I hadn’t been there since my last visit to Japan over three years ago, so I was pretty excited.

Yokohama is a port city. Location-wise, and considering that Maryland and Kanagawa Prefecture are sister states, Yokohama can be compared to Baltimore back home. Of course, Yokohama automatically beats Baltimore because of the Ferris wheel. Ferris wheel = win.

We were out there for most of the clear and sunny day, but Yokohama actually looks most beautiful at night. When I go back there, I’ll take more pictures.

Chinatown is great as well. MUCH better than whatever that place is in Washington D.C., which I like to dub as “Chinablock.” Once we entered the gate, I actually felt like I wasn’t in Japan anymore. And wow, there’s nikuman for days…

A “must-visit” for the summer, I’ll say. It was pretty cold by the harbor. It’s too bad I can’t go too often, since it’s a pricey trip at almost 600 yen going one-way.

Leave a Reply

