SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Last Weekend.

My Internet came back for a day and went out again. According to the manager it should be fixed on Monday. Anyway, here’s an account of what last weekend was like, since I didn’t have time until now to blog about it.

Friday: Shinjuku, explored Kabukicho and observed hosts as part of my research.
Saturday: Harajuku, purikura with Kelley and Kenisha, then went to a restaurant in Shibuya. Karaoke afterwards–I sang READY STEADY GO by L’Arc~en~Ciel, Coast to Coast by Bonnie Pink, and Billie Jean by Michael Jackson.
Sunday: Did laundry, homework, took a nap, cooked, and straightened my hair.

Saturday morning was the highlight of my weekend. For the first time, I bought a ticket to a concert in Japan.
First, Internet has been down on my floor since Thursday night. Tickets went on sale Saturday morning at 10, so I had to go downstairs to use the public computers to try and order a ticket.

Buying tickets is somewhat similar to the process in America, except for a few more options. Like Ticketmaster in the U.S., Japan has a few places to order tickets for various performances. Ticket Pia and Lawson Ticket are just two of the sites that do this type of service. A few weeks ago I got an account on Ticket Pia to prepare for two concerts, JACK IN THE BOX 2008 and Peace and Smile Carnival.

So Saturday morning, around 6 a.m., I went downstairs to use the computer to check the time for ticket sales for Peace and Smile Carnival. Ticket Pia was doing server maintenance, so that’s when I got an account on Lawson Ticket. I went back upstairs and then went down again around 9:30 to wait for sales to open.

Lawson Ticket was being difficult with me while I was trying to buy a ticket. When my credit card (check card, actually) finally got through, tickets were sold out.

It was only 6 or 7 minutes after 10:00.

Ticket Pia gave me trouble even before 10, not loading the page for the concert. This may have been because everyone might have been visiting at once. After refreshing several times, the page finally loaded and I saw that tickets were still available. As quickly as I could, I filled in all the info and submitted it. Then came my confirmation page! I got a ticket!

So now I’m officially going to Peace and Smile Carnival. JACK IN THE BOX 2008 tickets go on sale tomorrow, so hopefully I’ll get a ticket for that too, since that’s the concert I was planning to attend before I even came to Japan.

2 responses to “Last Weekend.

  1. kinuyo April 26, 2010 at 11:25 am

    hi Christine! I've just come back from a short holiday in Japan and went to my first host club (after about 5 years of wanting to go to one since seeing the series "Yaoh" and before that-which is veery old, called "Yoru ni Dakarete") and I had a great time! I went with 2 of my girlfriends who can't speak Japanese…but it was fun anyway. After coming back I've just been thinking about why there aren't any places like that in Australia (I live in Sydney) and can't wait for my next trip which is in September…then I stumbled onto your blog and have just been fascinated with your host club escapades! Too bad I only got the nerve to go to a club on our last night! If I'd known they weren't so scary I would have liked to visit a few others! Anyway, when do you plan on going back to Japan again??

  2. Christine April 26, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Hi there, I'm glad you enjoyed my blog and that you got to visit a host club ^_^ America doesn't have anything like host clubs either, unfortunately. I'm supposed to be returning to Japan in August, but it hasn't been decided yet where I'll be living. Hopefully I'll be in a decent area and at some point I'll be able to visit another host club 🙂

Leave a Reply

