SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Tokyo Game Show 2008

It was but a brief visit. You could say it’s kind of like E3, but I think E3 is actually bigger. As far as the size of the convention, it was pretty huge, but in terms of content there didn’t seem to be much. For only a 1200 yen admission price, it’s not bad at all. The show took place for four days from the 9th to the 12th (only the 11th and 12th was open to the public). I was planning to go on Saturday but I was busy, so I went on Sunday instead.

My camera’s batteries were, for some reason, running low when I had just gotten in, so I couldn’t take a lot of pictures. There wasn’t much to see other than elaborate stages and large screens with previews that I wasn’t allowed to photograph anyway. I ended up making a short list of games to look out for, at least the ones that my brother and I might be interested in:

  • Valkyrie Profile: 咎を背負う物 (Nintendo DS, Nov. 1st)
  • Star Ocean 4: The Last Hope (XBox 360 and PS3, Feb. 19th 2009)
  • Gyakuten Kenji <–this is for my own interests, I know Jonathon doesn't care for this one. (Nintendo DS, no release date announced but expected in Spring 2009, according to Wikipedia)
  • Patapon 2 and Loco Roco 2 (PSP, I didn’t catch a release date for these)
  • Shin Sangoku Musou: Multi-Raid (no idea what this is about but I didn’t see any Dynasty Warriors characters in it)
  • Tatsunoko vs. Capcom: Cross Generation of Heroes (wasn’t sure about this either, but I saw that guy from Gatchaman/G-Force in it)

Blah, blah, photos:


There was a long line of people waiting to play a demo of this.


Koei: You can’t tell in the picture, but that purple display is actually a HUGE lighted screen that changes. Can you say, “overdone”?


Final Fantasy Dissidia? Seems like some reprise of FF legends or something. I’m not a fan, so I took a picture and walked away.


These dudes were playing electronic music of sorts. I tried to take a video but my camera had other plans in mind, i.e. the batteries were low. Funny since I barely used my camera the day before…


XBox 360 stage. In another room there was another 360 area with playable demos of SO4.

Of course, the show also had a sales area. Don’t get too excited; it was nothing compared to Otakon’s dealer’s room. But I wasn’t fully disappointed…Gyakuten Saiban/Phoenix Wright fans, don’t hate.


Stickers for IC Cards (those cards people in DC like to call ‘Smartrip,’ remember?) I won’t be using mine until I get back from Japan, since recharging the IC card requires you to insert it in a machine, and I don’t want the stickers to get all messed up that way.


Bookmarks! Don’t you wish there was one for all of the attorneys and prosecutors?


Blue Badger strap! My cell phone was already nicely decorated so I put it on my DS.


And my favorite…a Godot Blend No. 107 mug. Unfortunately, no coffee was included. Even if there was, it wouldn’t matter since I don’t drink coffee. The other side of the mug has a picture of Godot on it ^_^

Well, that’s it. There was also a lot of cosplayers, but I found out that they all rented their costumes from this booth at the show, so I didn’t take any pictures. Ah, I miss cosplay already.

Leave a Reply

