SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

OMG, J-ROCK!

During my first few days in Japan, I went to HMV and some other major CD shops and wondered, “Where would I find indies J-Rock and Visual Kei?”

So on Thursday in Ikebukuro I found a small J-Rock/VK haven by the name of Closet Child…at least I think that’s what the name was…I don’t remember fully. This place has the music of indies and mainstream J-Rock and VK bands, as well as DVDs, photobooks, concert goods, magazines, Gothic and Lolita clothing, and used items. I was SO HAPPY to find this place on the 5th floor of a building on Sunshine 60 Street, advertised by a simple black sign next to an elevator.

I looked around and only ended up buying a 2007 issue of SHOXX that had a poster of the GazettE. I wanted to buy some CDs, but it’s hard when you don’t know what to expect from a band without hearing their music. A lot of the Visual Kei bands have similar appearances, but different sounds. I’ll have to do some online research, but in the meantime, Closet Child goes on my list of Christine-approved places. I’ll be revisiting this place from time-to-time.

Leave a Reply

