SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Grocery Shopping

It’s strange how the first time I have to buy groceries on my own, it’s in a foreign country where I can barely read anything. It’s not like any of my classes taught me how to identify food, so I had to use what experience I gained from watching my mom, as well as good ol’ guessing.

One thing’s for sure, I need to practice.

I’ve gone shopping for necessities three times so far. I guess that’s not too bad, seeing as how I’ve had to start from nothing in the fridge and pantry. I had intentions of eating more than just ramen, but somehow by the end of my second day of shopping, I had nothing but rice, noodles and soup-related ingredients. Some people can live on that or just eat out, but I’m trying to eat healthy and save money by cooking my own food.

Strange enough, the first two times I went grocery shopping were at the 100 yen shop, once in Ikebukuro and again at the Harajuku Daiso on Sunday. I used to chuckle at people who went shopping for such things at the dollar store in the U.S., but seeing the wide range of food and ingredients available at Daiso, I figured, why not?

Unfortunately, meat, eggs and vegetables are not available there. So after orientation and shopping for cleaning supplies at the 100yen shop in Ikebukuro, I stopped at this grocery store that’s conveniently located in front of the Fujimidai station ticket gate. I mixed it up a little, buying some eggs, pieces of pure white chicken breast, frozen pizza (it was on sale), some prepared salad, hash browns (a pack of 3 for 99 yen!) and mochi ^_^

For the most part, I was almost clueless there, so I stuck to familiar things. I didn’t want to sit there in the grocery store fiddling with the dictionary on my Nintendo DS and looking up words I don’t know. I’ll have to look up a few food-related words and some recipes next time.

And for the third time, I forgot to buy hand soap. I can’t believe I keep forgetting…I’ve been using hand sanitizer and dish soap interchangeably.

P.S. While on the topic of food and such, on TV the other day I saw a segment called “Hard Gay Cooking.” Yes, Hard Gay was there. They made potato pizza…mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

