SCHIZO-ALIAS

Musings about Japan and life as a human, a cosplayer, a minority, a music lover, an English teacher.

Arrival and Check-in

So I made it! I’m wondering how often I should update, because although I’ve been busy, I don’t like writing super long entries. Oh well, I’ll cover the important stuff.

My arrival went well. I couldn’t wait to get off the plane because my body felt so cramped, and the people sitting next to me were like some kind of BFF-lovey-dovey friends or something. Fortunately I was sitting in the aisle so I had some space. The food was pretty good too, I’m a bit hungry just thinking about it. Or maybe it was because I was hungry on the plane so I thought it was good. Meh.

After getting off the plane, I took the shuttle to the main area and went to Immigration. As some of you know already, when entering Japan they take your fingerprints for identification as well as a photo. Some of you might know about my skin condition on my fingers; it’s not really bad but the fingerprints are hard to see. They normally take the prints from your index fingers, but since those couldn’t be read by the machine I had to use my middle fingers.

After immigration I went down to get my luggage. It wasn’t a concern at all about whether I’d get my luggage on time, since it seemed at LAX that they sent luggage along with the flight. I went through customs and proceeded to the main area to meet Hikaru.

Hikaru is my friend who hosted me during my week-long homestay in 2005. When she went to the U.S. the following year I hosted her. Since then we’ve been keeping contact with each other. I told her I was coming and asked her to help me get to Fujimidai. My suitcases were really huge and heavy, so I decided to send them by 宅急便 (‘takkyuubin’ is a delivery service used to send luggage and the like to a specified address), and my stuff arrived the next day.

From the airport, we went to Ikebukuro (where Rikkyo is) and had dinner. We were in a bit of a hurry so I couldn’t finish my shrimp tempura udon. I was sure to finish the tempura but the noodles were a bit much.

Getting to Fujimidai from Ikebukuro is pretty easy. Fujimidai is on the Seibu-Ikebukuro line, which is a separate rail from Japan Railways (‘JR’ for short). Only the local train stops here, but taking one of the express trains to Nerima and then transferring to local train will get you here in just three stops. From the station, J-DREAM Fujimidai (my dormitory) is just a five-minute walk.

My dorm is pretty nice, I like it. Even though I asked for a single room, it seems that they gave me a double room without a roommate. It has a bunkbed and two desk chairs, which is how I figured it out. There’s a tiny little kitchenette with a sink and single burner, and a tiny bathroom which probably wouldn’t suit someone that is very large. I also have a PC, TV, VCR, and fridge. Overall I like where I’m staying. It’s pretty quiet and away from the busy city, but even if I lived in the city I wouldn’t mind.

That’s all I’ll write for now. It’s early Saturday morning here and there are no orientation plans today, so I’ll probably look up a few places to go for the weekend. I know my brother wants me to keep him updated on tech stuff, so I’ll get to that pretty soon.

Leave a Reply

